Rich in History
Lykens Township is rich in history as once there was everything a Penna. German family needed for survival. A grist mill, tannery, feed mill, cider press, general store, one room schools (7) to educate his children when they were not busy helping in the fields. In the early 1900’s many families spoke only Penna. German (PA Dutch) in the home. As a result, many children entered school not speaking English. The spiritual needs at that time were cared for by Coleman’s Church (St Matthews), Klinger’s Church (Zion), and Hoffman’s (St. Peter’s) which are all in existence today. These cemeteries hold a wealth of ancestral information.
In 1961 the last one room school closed and all children attended Upper Dauphin Schools. About 1975 an Order of Amish from Lancaster discovered the gems of the valley and began purchasing farms. At present there are again one room schools in the area, children speaking PA German and the present has again become the past.